Counterfeit Wine???

I think there’s a statement that people will agree with me to some extent: China is known for counterfeiting products, from fake brand-named bags to ‘fake powder milk’ for infants, to believe it or not, WINE! Ever since the Fall of 2010, there have been reports on China counterfeiting goods such as wine. You’re probably wondering how is that possible?

I know I’ve mentioned this really briefly in a previous blog that was on the credibility of a wine blogger, but I wanted to go further in depth on this issue.

In late December, several corporate accounts were frozened and any tainted wines were pulled off the shelves after they had been made in Hebei Province. These wines were both chemically altered as well as falsely branded as a higher quality product; the irony of it all was that China produces a third of their local grape wine and was nicknamed as ‘China’s Bordeaux’.

CCTV’s footage showed a local sales manager admitting that some wines made in the coastal city of Qinhuangdao contained only 20 percent of fermented grape juice, with the rest being composed of sugar water mixed with chemicals, including coloring agents and flavorings.

With all the publicity and buzz around the wine scandal in China, many esteemed members in the wine industry, such as Zhang Yongjian (the executive director for the development and regulation of the food and drug industry), are afraid of the destructive effects to the wine industries in China.

“It will be hard for the county to restore its current status or gain recognition among nationwide consumers,” Zhang said.

Even as a person who is proud of my Chinese heritage, I was extremely disappointed in China. I’m not going to lie, I’m one of the people who’ve bought fake brand-named purses when I’ve gone to visit China, yet you may call me hypocritical when I’m against the issue of counterfeiting wine. I would argue however, that this is a totally different ballpark. Purses are merely things that we carry, clothing are merely fabrics that we put on our bodies, but wine is something we drink. Just like food, it can be affect our bodies negatively if too many chemicals are added. Anyone who counterfeits food should receive SEVERE PENALTY because you’re harming someone else by producing an impure product. I’m furious that any decent human being could allow such corruption – allowing products to be ‘altered’ so you can earn money faster is purely selfish. Unfortunately, I could find reports as to what happened to those who were caught counterfeiting wine but I do hope in the future, stricter policies can be regulated.

This poses a question I have for you, which I hope you can share with me your thoughts: how do you go about changing people’s view on counterfeited items in China?

Anyone that I know of who goes to China to buy goods is always cautious of it being a counterfeit item. From a poll that was done on 1,365 people, 99.5% of them said that they had experienced with forgeries at some point in their lifetime – this, in my perspective, is not only shocking, but also sad that people just accept it for the way it is.

Wine of the Day: Vino Nobile di Montepulciano Incanto (2007)

Trader Joe's $9.99


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Counterfeit Wine???

  1. Cody Meyer says:

    I think that the label that China has as a counterfeit national might be too strong to shake now. As long as countries like the United States continue to take advantage of their economy and the cheap labor of China, it will be very hard for China to produce quality products. The emphasis seems to always be to do something the cheapest way you can. This will never change as long as China’s people are being taken advantage of.

    I also think that the fact that their population is so high leads to so many counterfeit products. It’s so competitive there with so many people, making it hard to survive. People will be willing to do anything to make it by, and this leads to illegal activity such as counterfeits.

  2. Marvin says:

    Wow, I had no clue that china was counterfeiting wine. I knew about all the other things that china counterfeits, but wine is a completely different level. I wouldn’t want to buy fake wine and end up getting sick or dying from it. It’s very interesting and scary that things like this going on in the world.
    Is there any way to tell if you’re buying a knock-off bottle of wine?? What should I look for??

Leave a Reply

